CVE-2025-14025
Ansible-automation-platform/aap-gateway: aap-gateway: read-only personal access token (pat) bypasses write restrictions
- Published
- Last modified
- Where the record stands: published, rejected by its publisher, or superseded by another id.What do these mean? →
- published
- Whether CISA lists it in its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog: proof that attackers are using it.What do these mean? →
- Not listed in CISA KEV
- Whether working attack code is public (Exploit-DB, Metasploit, Nuclei or GitHub). Public code makes attacks easier.What do these mean? →
- None on Exploit-DB, Metasploit or GitHub
CISA's decision points: whether it is exploited, whether attacks can be automated, and how much control an attacker gets. Assessed (SSVC 2.0.3).What do these mean? →
- Exploitation: none
- Automatable: no
- Technical impact: total
Summary
A flaw was found in Ansible Automation Platform (AAP). Read-only scoped OAuth2 API Tokens in AAP, are enforced at the Gateway level for Gateway-specific operations. However, this vulnerability allows read-only tokens to perform write operations on backend services (e.g., Controller, Hub, EDA). If this flaw were exploited, an attacker‘s capabilities would only be limited by role based access controls (RBAC).
Timeline
- CVE published
- CISA SSVC assessment
Exploitation: none · Automatable: no · Technical impact: total
- Record last updated
Affected versions
- automation-gateway
Version range not reported
- automation-gateway
Version range not reported
- automation-gateway
Version range not reported
- ansible-automation-platform-25/gateway-rhel8
Version range not reported
- ansible-automation-platform-26/gateway-rhel9
Version range not reported