CVE-2025-12744
Abrt: command-injection in abrt leading to local privilege escalation
- Published
- Last modified
- Where the record stands: published, rejected by its publisher, or superseded by another id.What do these mean? →
- published
- Whether CISA lists it in its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog: proof that attackers are using it.What do these mean? →
- Not listed in CISA KEV
- Fix
- Fixed in 2.17.7
- Whether working attack code is public (Exploit-DB, Metasploit, Nuclei or GitHub). Public code makes attacks easier.What do these mean? →
- 1 on Exploit-DB, 1 proof of concept on GitHub
CISA's decision points: whether it is exploited, whether attacks can be automated, and how much control an attacker gets. Assessed (SSVC 2.0.3).What do these mean? →
- Exploitation: none
- Automatable: no
- Technical impact: total
Summary
A flaw was found in the ABRT daemon’s handling of user-supplied mount information.ABRT copies up to 12 characters from an untrusted input and places them directly into a shell command (docker inspect %s) without proper validation. An unprivileged local user can craft a payload that injects shell metacharacters, causing the root-running ABRT process to execute attacker-controlled commands and ultimately gain full root privileges.
Timeline
- CVE published
- CISA SSVC assessment
Exploitation: none · Automatable: no · Technical impact: total
- Record last updated
- Public exploit on Exploit-DB
EDB-52515
Affected versions
- abrt
fixed in 2.17.7
- abrt
Version range not reported
- abrt
Version range not reported
- abrt
Version range not reported