CVE-2023-3597GHSA-4F53-XH3V-G8X4
Keycloak: secondary factor bypass in step-up authentication
- Published
- Last modified
- Where the record stands: published, rejected by its publisher, or superseded by another id.What do these mean? →
- published
- Whether CISA lists it in its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog: proof that attackers are using it.What do these mean? →
- Not listed in CISA KEV
- Fix
- Fixed in 22.0.10, 24.0.3
- Whether working attack code is public (Exploit-DB, Metasploit, Nuclei or GitHub). Public code makes attacks easier.What do these mean? →
- None on Exploit-DB, Metasploit or GitHub
CISA's decision points: whether it is exploited, whether attacks can be automated, and how much control an attacker gets. Assessed (SSVC 2.0.3).What do these mean? →
- Exploitation: none
- Automatable: no
- Technical impact: partial
Summary
A flaw was found in Keycloak, where it does not correctly validate its client step-up authentication in org.keycloak.authentication. This flaw allows a remote user authenticated with a password to register a false second authentication factor along with an existing one and bypass authentication.
Timeline
- CVE published
- CISA SSVC assessment
Exploitation: none · Automatable: no · Technical impact: partial
- Record last updated
Affected versions
- keycloak
fixed in 22.0.10; From 23.0.0 · fixed in 24.0.3
- rhbk/keycloak-operator-bundle
Version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9
Version range not reported
- rhbk/keycloak-rhel9-operator
Version range not reported
- keycloak
Version range not reported
- Red Hat RHSSO 7.6.8
Version range not reported
- org.keycloak:keycloak-servicesMaven
fixed in 22.0.10
- org.keycloak:keycloak-servicesMaven
From 23.0.0 · fixed in 24.0.3